On a personal note..

I was doing some cleaning up today and discovered my handwritten script talking about my Management Associate (MA) journey. I was selected by my company’s HR Management team to represent my MA batch and to give a short speech to potential MA candidates. I decided to share my experience and learnings with the potential candidates.

Now looking at my written speech I realised that what I have shared with a few candidates can actually be shared here with all of you, my readers 🙂

Even if your chosen path is not to be a Management Associate, I believe most of the points I mentioned in my speech will hit a cord with you. A lot of what I shared can help you be a better person and professional.

So here is my speech word for word, I hope you find inspiration in it.

Good morning everyone,

First, I would like to congratulate all of you for reaching this far.

I still remember a similar day in my life two years back when I was in the same position as you, hoping I will clutch the deal and get selected as one of the management associates and have my career started on a successful note.

I will be graduating this October and boy has it been a journey. One thing about the MA Programme is that you will definitely learn and grow a lot through the two years. You will meet a lot of people, build useful networks and at the same time learn what floats your boat and what doesn’t.

For me, it took about a year and a half of rotations in the company to finally know my area of interest. But some of you may realise it in a shorter time and if you do, that would be great.

So after working for 2 years here are some of my little nuggets of wisdom on what will help you achieve success in whatever you do. This is not just limited to work but is something you can use for all things in life. Remember these 8 things:

  1. Never feel bad about failure

As cliché as it may sound this is a very important thing to remember. So much emphasis is put on getting ‘A’ grades and always getting it right that we fear failure. In life we can never always get it right, and working in a company means working as a team. Outcomes are not controlled by just you one person. So understand that sometimes we may fail, but don’t let it deter you, learn from it, grow, move forward and don’t look back in regret.

  1. Be humble

I know most of you in this room would have graduated at the top of your class, are intelligent and have a great future ahead of yourself. But don’t get consumed by your own success as the universe is large and there is still a lot to learn and discover. Always be open to listen to others as everyone you meet has something you can learn and also teach.

  1. Make your own path

There will be many people who will try to influence you to select a career path they think is right for you. Take your time to think and never be afraid to chart your own path. I asked to be part of a department that was not in my rotations because I was sure what I want to do in my career. I made the effort to talk to the right people and pursue the path my heart and mind knew was right for me. You and only you will know what you truly want so don’t be afraid to draw the route for yourself as your canvas is yours and only yours.

  1. Say ‘YES’ to more things

It is only when we are young we can do more as the energy and time is what we can give. As we age our priorities may change and we may not be willing to spend more time in office. So use the time now to say ‘YES’ to more work as you will learn more and get to grow your knowledge base. But, be smart about taking more, you must also make sure you know how to prioritise and finish your work properly with quality.

  1. Don’t work too hard

I know I said to say ‘YES’ to more things but that does not mean your personal life gets tossed out the window. Do make sure you take time to stop and smell the roses. Go on holidays, spend quality time with your loved ones and don’t feel guilty about not checking your mails on vacation. Disconnecting from work is good as it helps you relax, de-stress and calm yourself. Companies have leave entitlement, so use them when you need a break and don’t feel guilty about it. Going on holidays has nothing to do with age, just remember that.

  1. Know your end goal

Whatever you do in life, it is very important to have your short and long term goals in place. You need to know what exactly are you trying to achieve so that you know what you need to do to achieve it. So, whether it is personal or professional, make sure you have your goals set so that at every stage you are guided and know exactly what you will be achieving.

  1. Be Nice

I know this is like a given, but I want to say it because I believe some people undervalue the importance of being nice. Treat everyone with respect and kindness and you will see the same being reciprocated to you. Even if someone else is rude, don’t stoop to their level as you were made for better things than having to be rude to an ignorant soul.

Lastly, my eighth point and the one that is the most important to me is to never lose your character because character is the real foundation of all worthwhile success. If you can’t remember the previous 7 points, please do remember this last one.

So that is all that I wanted to share with all of you amazing people here today. I wish you all the best for all your future endeavours and I do hope to see some of you make it and get selected as our new batch of management associates.

Thank You.

Happy reading..

Leave a Reply

